About Wise County ESD #1

Wise County ESD #1 is a volunteer department located in Boyd, Texas and provides structure and wildland fire suppression, emergency medical services, and rescues to the communities of Boyd, Keeter, Aurora, Springtown, and the surrounding Wise County area. The ESD is governed by a five member board and is funded by property taxes within the ESD's primary service area.

Station 12

Station 12 was built in 2014 and is located on FM 730, south of Boyd. It houses our fire administration, members, board meetings , and 6 apparatus. It is often staffed with 2 volunteers 24/7 and administrative personnel M-F from 9-5.


Fire protection services in this area began with Boyd Volunteer Fire Department. In 2001, Wise County ESD (Emergency Services District) #1 was founded to improve funding, equipment, and overall quality of service. In 2014, Wise County ESD #1 and BVFD merged into one entity. This allowed WCESD #1 to obtain consistent man power, ensured BVFD financial security with operation and upkeep of equipment, and allows the community to receive exceptional emergency services.